Cellar Darling formed in the summer of 2016 out of the split of Switzerland’s most successful metal act to date, the chart-topping Eluveitie. The trio consisting of Anna Murphy (vocals, hurdy-gurdy), Merlin Sutter (drums) and Ivo Henzi (guitars & bass) therefore already looks back on a decade of touring the world, in 45+ countries on 6 continents. The winners of the 2014 Swiss Music Award as ‘best live act’ have experienced much together, forming a bond that can overcome any adversity.

After the split with their former band in June 2016, Anna, Ivo and Merlin quickly realised their musical journey was far from over and instantly began working on their own songs. What quickly developed was a unique and fresh combination of grand and heavy riffs, powerful drumming and a unique voice, with the signature folky, earthy tones of the hurdy gurdy, confidently fusing heavy alternative rock with strong fokly influences and poetic lyrical tales, creating what you may very well call a New Wave Of Folk Rock. 

Lyrically, Cellar Darling are storytellers. They want to carry you away into their world of music, awaking the spirit of the stories our parents told us before going to sleep, painting pictures with melodies, metaphors and poetry. Melodize the adventures of the human spirit, with all its mysteries and emotions.

The upcoming album promises to awaken your imagination and stretch your musical tastes.

Cellar Darling s’est formé en été de 2016 suite à la séparation d’Eluveitie, groupe de métal suisse le plus célèbre à ce jour. Le trio composé par Anna Murphy (voix, vielle à roue), Merlin Sutter (batterie) et Ivo Henzi (guitares et basse) a donc une décennie de tournée mondiale à son actif, dans plus de 45 pays sur les 6 continents. Les gagnants du Swiss Music Award 2014 en tant que «best live act» ont acquis une grande expérience, créant des liens qui leur permettent de surmonter toute adversité.

Après la scission avec leur ancien groupe en juin 2016, Anna, Ivo et Merlin ont rapidement réalisé que leur voyage musical était loin d’être terminé et ont commencé à travailler sur leurs propres chansons. Ce qui a rapidement été développé était une combinaison unique et fraîche de riffs grands et lourds, de percussions puissantes et d’une voix unique, avec les tons typiquement folk et rauques de la roue à vielle, fusionnant du heavy alternative rock avec des contes folky à fortes influences lyriques poétiques, créant ce que l’on peut très bien appeler une New Wave Of Folk Rock.

Lyriquement, Cellar Darling sont des conteurs. Ils veulent vous emmener dans leur monde de la musique, réveiller l’esprit des histoires que nos parents nous ont racontés avant de s’endormir, peindre des images avec des mélodies, des métaphores et de la poésie. Melodiser les aventures de l’esprit humain, avec tous ses mystères et ses émotions.

L’album à venir promet de réveiller votre imagination et d’étirer vos goûts musicaux